Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
17-10-2013, 02:07 PM (This post was last modified: 17-10-2013 03:06 PM by jschall.)
Post: #1
HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
My Pro was working fine until, in the middle of opening an app, it crashed to the boot screen. Since then, the spinning boot icon keeps spinning, but it will not boot.

Is there anything I can do, or is my Pro dead and gone?

Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
Quote
17-10-2013, 05:32 PM
Post: #2
RE: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
If you can't re-flash it via whatever method is currently available I do not know what your recourse would be.

I'd highly suggest against sending it in because from I've seen they don't have any infrastructure going on as far as support or shipping. After he kicked us out the company has yet to do anything it seems.

Former graphic designer for Equiso. We were held back from helping you.
Quote
18-10-2013, 01:48 AM
Post: #3
Re: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
Two options:

1)Get rom image and burn to microsd

2) Load linux and setup fastboot to reload partitions

Root Std
Root Pro
build.prop Tweak! (SU)
38% faster read (SU)
Tweaks
Quote
18-10-2013, 04:53 PM
Post: #4
RE: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
@EquisoGD_John:

Thanks for continuing to lurk here! I submitted a ticket on the Equiso support page, and David Thompson advised me to send it in to their Carlsbad CA office for a replacement. I can keep the Equiso remote, dongle and power supply. So, they appear to have the support "infrastructure".

@blkcamarozr28:

Thanks fof the suggestions. Do you have any links to detailed instructions? I would like to try to re-flash the July ROM, if I can find a step-by-step procedure. If I screw up, I can send it in for replacement.

Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
Quote
21-10-2013, 02:19 AM
Post: #5
Re: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
Dont recall if i posted a howto or not. However, it depends if you have a ubuntu (linux) laptop or computer. You need to install android sdk (adb and fastboot) if you get that working then I can send you a link to my rom dump. Im in between moving houses so I would have to find my Equiso. Let me know if u complete task 1 first.

Root Std
Root Pro
build.prop Tweak! (SU)
38% faster read (SU)
Tweaks
Quote
29-10-2013, 05:32 PM (This post was last modified: 29-10-2013 05:49 PM by jschall.)
Post: #6
RE: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
Thanks, @blkcamarozr28.

I'm too lazy to go through that again. I gave up and sent my Pro back to Equiso for replacement/exchange.

Meantime I'll survive with my WDTV Live, my quad-core Android box and my Google TV.

Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
Quote
31-10-2013, 10:28 AM
Post: #7
RE: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
Update:

I mailed my Pro from Beloeil, Québec, on 24 October. On 30 October, Equiso acknowledged reception and promised they would send replacement within 2 weeks.

In other news, Canada Post says my Chromecast has arrived in Beloeil. Woot!

Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
Quote
04-12-2013, 10:55 AM (This post was last modified: 04-12-2013 10:56 AM by jschall.)
Post: #8
RE: HELP! EQUISO PRO won't boot.
I finally received my replacement retail Equiso 5 weeks after my dead Kickstarter Pro was received in Irvine, California. It is working fine so far. Much more useful than my Chromecast!

Jeff Schallenberg
Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
Quote


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)

Contact Us | Equiso Smart TV Forum | Return to Top | Return to Content | Lite (Archive) Mode | RSS Syndication