Equiso Forum - Discussion Forums for the Equiso Smart TV

Full Version: Finally got my Pro, remote won't work properly...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
The Pro finally came in yesterday (it was about time!). I charged the remote, connected the stick to the TV (and powered it). All went fine at first, I entered the password for my wifi network (the TV is not on the same story as the router, so good for the Equiso), entered my Google account infos, went to Google Play, downloaded a couple apps (download speed was excellent). But then, the remote stopped working properly. It's just lagging, the "arrow" is almost impossible to control. To make it short, if it stays the way it's now, the Equiso is almost impossible to use. The remote was THE reason why I backed up that Equiso project.

What can I do with this? Is it software related? Did I just get a faulty remote? Can I send it back to get another one (I don't want to wait 6 months though...).

One of my buddies got its Equiso and the remote works fine, but he has problems with the wifi...

Thanks for any input. I hope to get support from people of Equiso, as opposed to when we were all waiting for our units that would not come before months after the promised date.
Odd. It worked perfectly fine up till then? I'd maybe plug the remote into the charger again and see if it lights up while plugged in. When it's fully charged it went from blue to red, correct?

The battery could be bad in the remote. Does the remote work normally w/the Equiso while plugged in?
(06-03-2013 01:17 PM)EquisoGD_John Wrote: [ -> ]Odd. It worked perfectly fine up till then? I'd maybe plug the remote into the charger again and see if it lights up while plugged in. When it's fully charged it went from blue to red, correct?

The battery could be bad in the remote. Does the remote work normally w/the Equiso while plugged in?
It was not perfect at first, but still "acceptable". I also thought it was because of the battery, so I let it charge until the light got blue, but it didn't make any change. As it is now, it's kinda useless.
You can try using that remote on your friends, or vise versa, to see if the problem lies w/your remote or the stick. Perhaps it could even be the dongle but those are tied to the remotes they ship with so you can't just trade remotes. There is a way to reprogram them and I don't have that in front of me at the moment.

If you do that and still have issues with either your stick or the remote you'll have to email support@equiso.com to start the return process.
(06-03-2013 03:28 PM)EquisoGD_John Wrote: [ -> ]You can try using that remote on your friends, or vise versa, to see if the problem lies w/your remote or the stick. Perhaps it could even be the dongle but those are tied to the remotes they ship with so you can't just trade remotes. There is a way to reprogram them and I don't have that in front of me at the moment.

If you do that and still have issues with either your stick or the remote you'll have to email support@equiso.com to start the return process.
Unfortunately, that buddy I mentioned is at a 2.5-hour drive from my home, so it's not possible.

Could you give me the way to reprogram the remote?

If it becomes the only way, how does the return process work? Do I have to send all the stuff back (or just the remote)? How long does it takes to get a working unit back? I don't want to wait for 6 months.
You'd ship it back here, however long that takes, and soon as we receive it Dan tests them and if needed sends a replacement within a couple days. Best case.

I hope to god it doesn't take 6mo for a replacement.
(06-03-2013 04:21 PM)EquisoGD_John Wrote: [ -> ]You'd ship it back here, however long that takes, and soon as we receive it Dan tests them and if needed sends a replacement within a couple days. Best case.

I hope to god it doesn't take 6mo for a replacement.
I really appreciate the quick replies.

Could you give me the infos to reprogram the remote, to see if it could solve the issues before shipping it back?
Thanks.
Guillaume, I had to reduce the pointer speed to nearly minimum in Settings/Language and Input/MOUSE/TRACKPAD before it became manageable.
(06-03-2013 10:28 PM)jschall Wrote: [ -> ]Guillaume, I had to reduce the pointer speed to nearly minimum in Settings/Language and Input/MOUSE/TRACKPAD before it became manageable.
Thanks for the tip. It's a bit better after playing with these settings, but still not too good...

If it appears that the my remote is shitty in the end, do you think something like this could control the Equiso:
http://dx.com/p/mele-f10-fly-mouse-3-in-...ack-128312

This thing looks great as well: http://www.measy.com.cn/product/showproduct51_en.htm
They may work. Not sure how button mapping will play out.

You can also plug a mouse and keyboard (wireless or wired) into the stick to see if the problem lies in the remote/dongle or stick itself. Android should detect it automatically.
Pages: 1 2
Reference URL's