Equiso Forum - Discussion Forums for the Equiso Smart TV

Full Version: Easy Rooting Instructions w/driver instructions [WORKS W/ WALMART RETAIL]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
(07-05-2013 05:20 PM)blkcamarozr28 Wrote: [ -> ]Thank you for the quick response. I have tried your method. The weird thing is i was able to install superuser thru your method but when i try 'adb remount' it says no device found so i am unable to root
(07-05-2013 05:20 PM)blkcamarozr28 Wrote: [ -> ]
(07-05-2013 02:37 AM)fin55 Wrote: [ -> ]Please Help!!

I have Windows 7 64bit - Previously had ADB drivers for phone installed.

1 - uninstalled ADB drivers
2 - downloaded drivers in this thread and installed - rebooted PC
3 plugged in equiso with USB cable from phone (tried 3 different cables)
4 phone is recognized in device manager as 'Android Composit ADB Interface'
5 Blue light never turns on
6 Tried running root anyway and get 'the system cannot find the path specified'

I also tried to edit the driver .inf file as stated in another thread but that did not work either

Any suggestions?

Have you tried my thread on rooting? Quick way to check is if you have your android sdk install is to run "adb devices" you should get a device in the list. From the sounds of it you have the driver installed but it could be other factors like antivirus or fw blocking. Do you have any security products on your computer?

Thank you for the quick response. I have tried your method. The weird thing is i was able to install superuser thru your method but when i try 'adb remount' it says no device found so i am unable to root
Did you enable usb debugging on the device?
(08-05-2013 04:34 AM)blkcamarozr28 Wrote: [ -> ]Did you enable usb debugging on the device?
yes
So when you run "adb devices" from the command prompt what does it display?
Is the wallmart retail stick the same uptek crap with new case or a completely different hardware?
(14-05-2013 09:48 AM)cutare Wrote: [ -> ]Is the wallmart retail stick the same uptek crap with new case or a completely different hardware?

It seems the only difference from the pro is no bluetooth and housing has more vents for cooling.
(14-05-2013 06:06 PM)blkcamarozr28 Wrote: [ -> ]
(14-05-2013 09:48 AM)cutare Wrote: [ -> ]Is the wallmart retail stick the same uptek crap with new case or a completely different hardware?

It seems the only difference from the pro is no bluetooth and housing has more vents for cooling.
It seems as though the Walmart version is running better firmware considering that most people seem to say the retail version is working ok for them. Any thoughts on trying to flash that firmware onto the Kickstarter Pro version of the product? I'd love to be able to watch decent quality ESPN3 with this thing.
(14-05-2013 06:52 PM)bhasden Wrote: [ -> ]
(14-05-2013 06:06 PM)blkcamarozr28 Wrote: [ -> ]
(14-05-2013 09:48 AM)cutare Wrote: [ -> ]Is the wallmart retail stick the same uptek crap with new case or a completely different hardware?

It seems the only difference from the pro is no bluetooth and housing has more vents for cooling.
It seems as though the Walmart version is running better firmware considering that most people seem to say the retail version is working ok for them. Any thoughts on trying to flash that firmware onto the Kickstarter Pro version of the product? I'd love to be able to watch decent quality ESPN3 with this thing.

That sounds like a good idea to me... If you can find someone owning the Walmart version to post their firmware here I will try flashing it to my "Pro" which is now rusting in a drawer anyways... I went back using to my 4-5 years old WD TV Live which does a way better job than the crap Pro if you can imagine that...
I would be glad to pull the firmware from one of my walmart retail units for you, what method would you like me to use?
(15-05-2013 01:58 PM)Devious Wrote: [ -> ]I would be glad to pull the firmware from one of my walmart retail units for you, what method would you like me to use?

I know blkcamarozr28 managed to do this for the Pro version, but I'm not exactly sure how he did it...
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Reference URL's